14 July | New hotspots declared

From midday today, two Local Government Areas in New South Wales are declared COVID-19 hotspots.

COVID-19 hotspots are updated regularly here.

Queensland’s border restrictions mean that anyone who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot within the last 14 days will no longer be able to quarantine in Queensland and will be turned away at the border.

This applies to everyone except people needed in Queensland for essential purposes and activities. Queensland residents who have been in a COVID-19 hotspot can return home but will be required to quarantine in government provided accommodation at their expense.

Under Border Restrictions Direction (No. 8) resource sector employees do not classify as an essential activity.