7 August 2020 | Update from DNRME

Border restrictions

From 1am on Saturday 8 August, Border Restrictions Direction (No. 11) (the direction) comes into force and places tighter controls on people moving into Queensland from declared COVID-19 hotspots (Victoria, NSW and ACT).

Under the direction, the Queensland border is closed to anyone who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the last 14 days except in limited exceptions.

Process for applying for a limited exemption under Border Restrictions Direction (No. 11).

It is important to the safety of the Queensland community that exemptions are only applied for if the position is critical and cannot be done by someone already in Queensland.

The Department has developed a guideline and online form for critical resource sector employees to apply for a specialist worker exemption for employees travelling from declared COVID-19 hotspots.

Applications will only be accepted from companies.

If you have workers you consider to be critical specialist workers, you need to complete an online application form, and provide supporting documentation (within the spreadsheet provided online).

It is critical that all criteria identified in the Guidelines is addressed in order to progress your application.  Applications that do not contain the required information will be rejected.

This information will form part of the assessment and inform the Chief Health Officer decision.

Previous exemptions are no longer valid.

Visit the website to access the forms.

Border Declaration Pass

After receiving an exemption, a Queensland Border Declaration Pass will also be required to be completed.  (You are unable to apply for a Border Declaration Pass, until you have been granted specialist worker exemption).

These restrictions will help to slow the spread of COVID-19 and keep our workers and communities safe.