7 August 2020 | Update from DNRME

Please find below the latest information on COVID-19 from DNRME, and how it relates to the resources sector.

Border restrictions

Further restrictions on Queensland’s borders have been announced.

From 1am this Saturday (8 August, 2020) New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory will be declared hot spots.

This change means that Queensland’s borders will be closed to any visitors coming from New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory–in addition to all of Victoria.

Any Queensland resident who wants to cross the border after this time will need to pay for 14 days mandatory hotel quarantine.


Specialist worker

Under the updated Border Restrictions Direction (No. 11) resources sector employees will fall under the category of Specialist Worker and require an exemption, applied for and issued by the Chief Health Officer.

The category of specialist workers has been expanded to include limited opportunities for the resources and other sectors to apply for exemptions for critical workers.

The process for applying for an exemption will be provided ASAP.

It is important to the safety of the Queensland community that exemptions are only granted in very limited circumstances and will be approved by the Chief Health Officer.

An assessment process, including relevant application forms and guidance material is currently under development and will be made available as a priority.

Further information about the Queensland border restrictions, including questions and answers, can be found on the Queensland Health website.

Border zones

Under the Border Restrictions Direction (No.11) residents of Border Zones will be allowed to cross the border providing they can show evidence that they live in a border zone and they are crossing for a permitted purpose such as such as undertaking work that can’t be done from home.


Status as at 6 August 2020 (yet to be updated for 7 August 2020)

  • New: 0 (last 24 hours)
  • Total: 1088
  • Tests: 620,412